Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (FMIPA) Diponegoro University was established based on the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture Number 0369/0/1993 dated October 21, 1993. The faculty began with the Mathematics Study Program which was established in 1969 for baccalaureate programs and in 1979 for programs bachelor. In 1988 three study programs were opened by directly organizing undergraduate programs, namely the Biology Study Program, Chemistry Study Program and Physics Study Program. All of the above programs are managed by the MIPA Management Agency (BPMIPA) based on the Rector’s Decree Number 63 / PTO9 / 1988 April 5, 1988. Since October 1993, FMIPA is one of the faculties of Diponegoro University.

Along with the Decree of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, the study program at FMIPA is a major. The mathematics department gave birth to two study programs namely computer science study program in 2004 which subsequently changed its name to Informatics engineering in 2010. Until now this Department has 3 Study Programs, namely: Mathematics Study Program, Statistics Study Program, and Informatics Engineering Study Program which is supported by Applied Mathematics, Analysis & Algebra, Statistics, Komdas, Relations, and computational services laboratory. Leading research carried out by researchers include: Mathematical modeling, computing, control systems, optimization in the fields of industry and social life, wavelets, artificial neural networks, bootstraps, the Center for Statistical Data Processing and Analysis (PKPDS), software engineering, information systems , databases, intelligent systems, computing, computer graphics and visualization.

The Department of Physics, Biology and Chemistry of the Faculty of Science and Mathematics (FSM) of Diponegoro University was first established under the supervision of the MIPA Management Agency (BP-MIPA) in 1988, based on the Decree of Diponegoro University No. 63 / SK / PT09 / 1988 and Rector’s Decree No. 103 / SK / PT09 / 1986. Based on Minister of Education and Culture Decree No. 0369/0/1993, Director General of Higher Education Decree No. 15 / DIKTI / KEP / 1994 and No. 22 O / DIKTI / KEP / 1996, Physics, Biology and Chemistry Study Program officially became a Department under FMIPA Diponegoro University based on Rector’s Decree No. 160 / SK / PT09 / 1994.

The Physics Department manages three study programs, namely the S1 Physics study program established in 1988, the Instrumentation and Electronics study program was established in 2005 and finally the Physics s2 study program was granted a standing permit in 2011. The Physics Department has 6 laboratories, namely: Basic Physics laboratory , Materials, Geophysics, Optoelectronics & Lasers, Instrumentation & Electronics, and Radiation Lab. Featured resets include: plasma technology, nano technology (carbon nanotubes), electronic laser technology, sensor based thin film semiconductors, seismic refraction, geothermal and microcontroller and PLC measurements.

The embryo of the formation of the Department of Biology by Diponegoro University began in 1975 which was then positioned as a unit. The unit is a place to consolidate biology from various Biology-based faculties, such as the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Animal Husbandry & Fisheries. The Department of Biology has a role as a facilitator of teaching and practicum in the field of Biology in Biology-based faculties. Biology study program starts accepting students based on Diponegoro University Rector’s Decree No. 63 / SK / PT09 / 1988. Based on the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 0369 / O / 1993 The Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (MIPA) has officially been established at Diponegoro University. The Biology study program became a Department strengthened by Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 220 / DIKTI / Kep / 1996. Since then, the Biology study program of UNDIP has developed internal organization and management in order to improve quality. The Biology Department has 6 laboratories, namely: Microbiology, Biochemistry, Genetics, Plant Biostructure & Function Laboratory, Biostructure & Animal Function, as well as the Ecology and Biosystematics laboratory. In addition the Department of Biology has 1 service unit. Leading research includes: Exploration of important microbes in industry, food microbiology (diversification of functional drinks), biotechnology, exploration of secondary metabolite compounds from plants and seaweed, tissue culture, biomonitoring, bioconservation, sustainable aquaculture environmental management, biosecurity, and biocontrol.

The Chemistry Study Program officially becomes a Chemistry Department under the Diponegoro University FMIPA based on Rector’s Decree No. 160 / SK / PT09 / 1994. Based on the MIPA Consortium’s decision, and for the first time carrying out its Bachelor program with a study load of 144 credits and a study period of 4 years. In its development, the Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Diponegoro University has 5 groups of expertise, namely Physical Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry and Biochemistry. This department has 5 laboratories, namely: Physical Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, and laboratories. Biochemistry. Leading research include: Synthesis & modification of zeolites, pillared clays, biomaterials, nanoparticles, exploration & modification of natural compounds (essential oils), environmental remediation (green process), exploration of alternative energy sources, exploration of microbes producing thermophilic enzymes.

× How can I help you?